Posted by: Peadar Ban | May 14, 2014

FOUR AM, MAY 14. 2014

Four AM, May 14, 2014

It was just four the big clock’s numbers read
When I woke up and saw them from my bed.
Calm, night ruled quietly.  The sun slept still
Miles away beyond the woods and homes and hills,
Beyond the river running down to the sea
When I rose and left my bed silently.

Downstairs I put the kettle on to boil
And put a tea bag in my mug and all.
The while waiting I thought to go outside
To see how was the world; a thing I’ve tried
And liked doing since I was a young boy.
Alone while the world awakes is a joy.

I can imagine myself witnessing
Creation’s wondrous leap first light always brings
To mind, or listen for wind’s first breath drawn
As if the world is happy for the dawn.

A mist of rain, droplets whispering, fell
Softly on my face, the rain’s sound and smell
A welcome at the break of day beyond
River’s deep run.  Above my head I found
No stars at all, but thinnest ragged scree
Of clouds between time here, eternity
Whitened shade of blue above, shallow sea.

I went back when robins in the trees awoke
To choir morning’s coming as day broke.

peg
May 14, 2014

Responses

  1. Nicely writ, you old twit.


Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers

