Posted by: Peadar Ban | December 10, 2008

The Ride To Judgement

Today is the birthday of Emily Dickinson.  I like her poetry, and her life story.  She wrote a poem about the ride to judgement.  I was thinking about the same thing early this morning, lying in bed between sleep and wakefulness.  This came to mind:

The Ride To Judgement
(after Emily Dickinson)

Should you some fine day decide
That it is time to come for me
With your invitation for a ride
Gladly will I let be what will be.

You will find me waiting, ready.
I will be singing a song I like to sing
Not so loud as to disturb, but steady
And keep within me all I wish to bring.

I will have tried to prepare
To go with you on this journey.
Having put away what else is here
Knowing I’ll not be returning.

To bring only what I leave behind
Worth the leaving or the keeping,
To share and to be shared in kind
The two edged sword of memory.

peg
December 10, 2008

Categories

