Posted by: Peadar Ban | April 7, 2010

All I Ever See

“Do I look the same,” she asked at the edge
Of the bed. “I know I don’t, but tell me anyway
That I do. Do I look the same to you?”

I was still half asleep and looking up
Saw her standing in the light streaming
Through the curtained window

And caught the smell of morning on the air
And lost my breath as on that first dawn
I lost it when she stood there and said,

“We have spent our first night in bed
Together, and nothing is the same.”
I remembered then how she looked
And nothing was the same

So, I took her hand in mine and truly said,
“Nothing is the same, except my love
And that is all I ever see.”

Responses

  1. One of the most beautiful poems I’ve ever read!

    • Why, thank you very much, Marie.

  2. Lovely indeed. I’m not sure you should limit it with a tag of “married life.” A love poem, yes; but also a life poem. Nothing in life remains the same except for that love to and by which we are all called; the love that, from the very first glimpse, changes everything.

    kjm

    • Thank you, Kathy. Your point is certainly a valid one, and I appreciate it.


Categories

