Posted by: Peadar Ban | April 23, 2010

A Letter I will Not Send

Dear _________,

I am sending you two links to articles which I found on the web, here and here.  I hope you read them, and that it moves you to do two things; discontinue your vigilant and what strikes me at times as almost gleeful wallowing in stories and reports about the faults and failings of the Catholic church and its hierarchy and priests.  The second thing I hope is that you begin to understand that all of this, including what you characterize as a cover-up is not caused by an all male celibate order of priests but rather by the very simple fact of our common fallen humanity.  Why should we expect better of them than we will allow ourselves?

I’ll not do any “proof texting” here.   If you are honest you will know.

Your friend,

Categories

