Posted by: Peadar Ban | August 14, 2011

The Oriole

I saw an Oriole come by.
Light, I thought, had learned to fly.
It seemed the sun had come to my garden
This morning, light winged, breast golden.
His song rang as bell rings clear
Whose charm pierces fleeing night, lingers
In heart’s ear but is too soon gone
While pale memory sips of sound and sight.

And I?  I must wait till sun’s return
Who, had I my way would prefer
He stay and sing and shine like my own sun
In my own sky for me, for me alone;
But he has work in other places
And he must shine on other faces.

The sun will peaceful on my garden shine
But bright light’s song with his going’s flown.
So I must rise and I must tell that I saw :
The brightness of day where was none before.
I saw an Oriole leap to the sky
And so I know that light can fly.

Responses

  1. a good one old friend thanks

    • Thank you, Father. God keep you…Old Friend.


Categories

