Posted by: Peadar Ban | October 26, 2011

It’s So Obvious

Good friends had a recent bit of trouble in the family.  As in most of these cases both sides over-reacted to the critical situation, and a classical “teaching moment” was lost in a nuclear exchange of words.  Oh, how well I know that situation, to my lasting sense of guilt.

A day or two went by in Arctic silence.

Today all is well, folks are happy.  Why?

Someone said, “I’m sorry.”  And, then they heard their words echoed from the other one, so aggrieved a moment before.

Sometimes I am prompted to offer my prescription for a happy marriage.  Jokingly I answer that it consists of remembering to say three things:  Yes dear.  You’re right.  I’m sorry.  Many times all that is necessary are the last two words.  I know.

Many times they are hard to say, much harder than those three little words.

It requires something not in common circulation nor thought much of: Humility.

One might think this:  I can not humble myself and yet be all that I can be.

I will be less if I say those two words is not a true statement.

You may never be greater.

“I forgive you” is never said without a smile.  Two smiles.

Responses

  1. Nice!

  2. Amen:)


Categories

