Posted by: Peadar Ban | November 14, 2011

An Article, A Musical, A Book and People

I’m not going to say too much about this article. I really couldn’t.  The author does a darn good job of saying just about everything that should be said on the subject, and you owe it to yourself to read it and spend a little time thinking about it.

I’ll say this about what I thought about though:  I thought about the performance of The Sound of Music we attended last Saturday, and how very Catholic that story is; how courageous Capt. Von Trapp is portrayed as he stands absolutely against Nazi evil when everyone else around him is cooperating or accommodating themselves to it; how his family’s flight from Austria is a kind of parallel with the Holy Family’s flight into Egypt; how the ironic it seems that they came to America for refuge given what goes on in America today.

I thought about a book I read recently, A Postcard From the Volcano, a book about life, death and courage.

Finally I thought about Kerry, Jason, Elizabeth, Sean and the others I have known and whose company I have enjoyed for more than twenty years.  Who are they?  They are the lebensunwertes Leben, the “life unworthy of life”, who would have been murdered then and who are being murdered now in the womb.

Lord have mercy on us all.

Categories

