Posted by: Peadar Ban | April 30, 2012

Today, April 30, 2012

Here is a short reflection on childhood memories, what brings them to the surface and how they connect with the present in us:

Monsignor Martin Scanlon was the pastor of St. John The Evangelist, the parish where I lived as a child.  It seemed that he had always been there.  All through my grade school years and well into high school and college (all in Catholic schools when Catholic schools were still Catholic) Monsignor Scanlon was our shepherd.  His twin brother was also a monsignor.  For almost as long a time as Martin Scanlon was pastor of St. John’s, his brother was  the pastor of  St. Raymond’s, a large parish on the other side of the Bronx.

I thought of him this morning when I read that today’s saint was Pope Pius V who gave away the church’s treasury to the poor.  Scanlon, as we called him, was a stern man we children thought.  But I remember the older folk talking about him and his open hand.

I remember only one of his homilies, preached on the power of prayer to all of us thousand or so students in St. John’s School one morning.  I must have been about 10 years old.  He urged us to pray in the morning when we rose and evening before we slept, before and after our meals and always to give thanks for God’s blessings on our work, play family and friends.  In that way, he said, we would be well on our way to heaven.  Read, below, what St. Pius V says about the road to heaven.

That I remember Scanlon’s words is a marvel to me.  I can still see him standing in the pulpit as he said them, though, truth to tell, I gave them scant attention until much, much later in my life, more’s the pity.

We will attend early Mass today, and I will pray for Scanlon..perhaps I’ll call him from now on The Scanlon after the style of the Irish chieftains.  And I will pray for my family, friends and neighbors at work and play, giving thanks that we are on the One Road, the Road to God knows where.

It is a beautiful day in and out.

Saint of the Day

Pope St. Pius V (1504-1572)
Pius is best known for enacting the reforms of the Council of Trent. He introduced a new breviary, missal, and catechism. He worked with the needy, built hospitals, and used the papal treasury to care for the poor.

Reflections from the Saints

Holy Communion is the shortest and safest way to Heaven.

– Pope St. Pius V

Scripture Verse of the Day

Romans 8:2

For the law of the Spirit of life has set you free in Christ Jesus from the law of sin and death.

Life in Christ: Catechism #2232

Family ties are important but not absolute. Just as the child grows to maturity and human and spiritual autonomy, so his unique vocation which comes from God asserts itself more clearly and forcefully. Parents should respect this call and encourage their children to follow it. They must be convinced that the first vocation of the Christian is to follow Jesus: “He who loves father or mother more than me is not worthy of me; and he who loves son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me.”

One Minute Meditations

Recovery
When you celebrated the feast of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross you asked Our Lord, with the most earnest desire of your heart, to grant you his grace so as to “exalt” the Holy Cross in the powers of your soul and in your senses. You asked for a new life; for the Cross to set a seal on it, to confirm the truth of your mission; for the whole of your being to rest on the Cross!

We shall see…

– St. Josemaria Escriva, The Forge, #517

© 2005-2010 myCatholic.com, A Division of Sacred Heart Media LLC. All Rights Reserved. myCatholic.com, “Customizable Catholic Homepage” and “My Homepage. My Way.” are trademarks of Sacred Heart Media LLC

We watched There Be Dragons last night and found it good, an interesting film about St. Josemaria.  I came away wishing to know more about him, and wonder now if old Monsignor Scanlon was like him as a young priest in a different New York City.
Here is a song from Taize, Adoramus Te Domine.  It’s here in honor of St. Pius V and The Scanlon.  While you listen say a prayer for The Scanlon and all the priests you know and have known:
Categories

