Posted by: Peadar Ban | May 9, 2012

Today, May 9, 2012

Kindness of The Christian Book Corner FB page, and ever so gently revised:

 

One of us has taken to saying they are a bicycle person in a spaceship world, and grumbling, as they were not ten minutes ago at the plain unfairness of it all when one of the strands of spaghetti behind the machine that sits smugly, its little points of light blinking in the half dark of a quiet morning, became unplugged. It was several minutes before the errant thread was found and re-plugged.

The other one, just the other day, exasperated at some stubborn and uncalled for on-screen activities by the machine imp, again, bemoaned the frustration, the loss of patience that comes with a close association with these things, and the accompanying fuming and fussing that boils up like some pool of hot mud….ignorantly, helplessly and menacingly.

We were reminded of the cry in Psalm 18 from today’s Office of Readings:

“The waves of death flooded round me,
  the torrents of Belial tossed me about,
the cords of the underworld wound round me,
  death’s traps opened before me.
In my distress I called on the Lord,
  I cried out to my God:
from his temple he heard my voice,
  my cry to him came to his ears.”

Can one murder a machine?

Were there such feelings among the monks who carved a quill, mixed powders for their inks and stretched skins for their parchments? Did wheelwrights, blacksmiths, weavers know such things when a spokeshave, a loom, a hammer “misbehaved”? Did the Carpenter of Nazareth?

Oh, some days its envy and not appreciation of their beauty that greets the lilies and birds whom we are asked to consider. There’s a weakness we need to ask for help for, another small indication of just how much we need.

_______________________________________________________________________________________

We marveled at the fact that as early as a few decades after His death, the Apostles had reached Britain, and were baptizing the people there. They need Saint Beatus…and all the saints, help.

Saint of the Day
St. Beatus of Lungern (1st century)
Beatus was baptized in England by St. Barnabas, ordained in Rome by St. Peter, and sent to Switzerland, where he lived in a cave. He is known as the Apostle of Switzerland.

Reflections from the Saints
When we must do something we dislike, let us say to God, “My God I offer You this in honor of the moment when You died for me.”
– St. John Vianney

Scripture Verse of the Day
Hebrews 4:16
Let us then with confidence draw near to the throne of grace, that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need.

Life in Christ: Catechism #2241
The more prosperous nations are obliged, to the extent they are able, to welcome the foreigner in search of the security and the means of livelihood which he cannot find in his country of origin. Public authorities should see to it that the natural right is respected that places a guest under the protection of those who receive him.

One Minute Meditations
Defeat
Jesus, my Love, to think that I could offend you again! Tuus ego sum… salvum me fac. – I am yours, save me.
– St. Josemaria Escriva, The Forge, #196
© 2005-2010 myCatholic.com, A Division of Sacred Heart Media LLC. All Rights Reserved. myCatholic.com, “Customizable Catholic Homepage” and “My Homepage. My Way.” are trademarks of Sacred Heart Media

Especially for all of our Polish friends we recommend this. Seeking patience we found peace:

Categories

