Posted by: Peadar Ban | June 11, 2012

Today, June 11, 2012

I took this from the FB page of our little online bookstore: The Christian Book Corner (t-cbc)

 

Today is the Feast of St. Barnabas.

I always associate this day in my mind with two people, both of whom have gone to their just reward. The first is a young woman whose liveliness and beauty attracted me as a very young boy, so much so that I often thought she was the most wonderful and the happiest person in the whole world. When I think of her I always see her smiling. I do not ever think that I saw her when she wasn’t simply like a sunbeam, shining brightly. Who wouldn’t be attracted to that gay light; especially a shy fellow like myself.

But when I was about fourteen, Susan disappeared. For some months she just wasn’t around, and whispers were heard, stories circulated, of some strange and tragic illness. I did not see her often after that. She was schizophrenic, and such things kept people away from each other then. She died young, abandoned by the man she married who had taken their child from her. I pray for her peace, now.

Today is the day when Sheila Marie Welby was born in 1941. She knew Susan, too. As a matter of fact on the day I was introduced to her by Susan’s cousin Gerry, this exact day fifty years ago, Susan was there, sitting at her feet like an acolyte. Sheila would have made Dorothy Parker’s wit seem bland, listless, boring. She could have led a country, and was the most intelligent, just and good person I had met and known until that time. She taught me the meaning of love.

Two years and one month later we married each other, and I spent the next 34 years, three months, eleven days, eleven hours and forty-seven minutes with her as her always grateful, and sometimes grating, husband until she died in my arms. She gave me much, her life among other things and people. I owe to her wisdom and God’s grace my marriage to Mariellen who is my peace, inspiration and example in all good things, my partner in all good things, God willing, for ages and ages. She continues always Sheila’s lessons in love.

And, I look look forward to that bright time when they meet at last and we all attend Lux Aeterna.

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

It is a beautiful day!

Saint of the Day
St. Barnabas (1st century)
Barnabas converted to Christianity shortly after Pentecost. Although not one of the Twelve Apostles, he is mentioned frequently in the Acts, and is included among the prophets and doctors at Antioch. He accompanied St. Paul to Cyprus and Asia.
Reflections from the Saints
Anxiety proceeds from an ill-regulated desire to be delivered from the evil we experience, or to acquire the good to which we aspire; nevertheless, nothing aggravates evil and hinders good so much as anxiety and worry.
– St. Francis de Sales
Scripture Verse of the Day
Psalm 100:4-5
Enter his gates with thanksgiving, and his courts with praise! Give thanks to him; bless his name! For the Lord is good; his steadfast love endures forever, and his faithfulness to all generations.
Life in Christ: Catechism #2287
Anyone who uses the power at his disposal in such a way that it leads others to do wrong becomes guilty of scandal and responsible for the evil that he has directly or indirectly encouraged. “Temptations to sin are sure to come; but woe to him by whom they come!”
One Minute Meditations
Interior Life
How many new things you have discovered! And yet you are sometimes rather naive and think you have seen everything, that you have found out everything already. As time goes by, you will be able to reach out and touch the unique and unfathomable treasures of the Lord, who will always show you new things, if you respond with love and sensitivity. Then you will realise that you are only beginning, because holiness consists in identifying oneself with God, with that God of ours who is infinite and inexhaustible.
– St. Josemaria Escriva, Furrow, #655
© 2005-2010 myCatholic.com, A Division of Sacred Heart Media LLC. All Rights Reserved. myCatholic.com, “Customizable Catholic Homepage” and “My Homepage. My Way.” are trademarks of Sacred Heart Media LLC

Here is a little piece of music I have liked for ages upon ages. Some say this is the place whence we all came thousands of years ago. I can believe it:

A musical journey to Mongolia. Dresden Staatskapelle conducted by Kurt Sanderling.
Responses

  1. I like it all.


Categories

