Posted by: Peadar Ban | June 29, 2012

Today, June 29, 2012

Here is something lifted from The Christian Book Corner’s FB page.  It’s grim.  It’s all about death and dying:
I think there is a light rain falling, but it is so slight I cannot really tell. I’m not particularly interested in going out to check. You’ll just have to take my word for it. All the other evidence is there: the battleship gray sky, the stillness of the trees and my headache. It began last evening when the weather began to change.

Today is the Feast of Sts. Peter and Paul, Apostles and Martyrs. Our Holy Mother Church gives us plenty to think about during June. She opens the month with a couple of martyrs: Saints Justin, Marcellinus and Peter (not the first Pope) from the early church and Saint Charles Lwanga and his companions from 19th Century Africa. She closes the month with Saints Irenaus, Peter and Paul, and, finally The Martyrs of the Early Church.

Someone I know would say, “It’s good for us to think about the martyrs.” One may well ask, “Why?” One may well ask. Tertullian has answered: Because, “the blood of the martyrs is the seed of the church.”

_______________________________________________________

St. Peter (1st century)

Peter was a fisherman before he was introduced to Jesus Christ by his brother, St. Andrew. Jesus gave his beloved Apostle the name Peter, meaning Rock, to indicate his authority. He was a miracle worker, even raising a person from the dead, and the first Pope. He died a martyr, crucified upside down.

Reflections from the Saints
If we possessed every virtue, but lacked humility, those virtues would be without root and would not last.
– St. Vincent de Paul

Scripture Verse of the Day
Philippians 2:13
For it is God who works in you, both to will and to work for his good pleasure.

Life in Christ: Catechism #2310
Public authorities, in this case, have the right and duty to impose on citizens the obligations necessary for national defense. Those who are sworn to serve their country in the armed forces are servants of the security and freedom of nations. If they carry out their duty honorably, they truly contribute to the common good of the nation and the maintenance of peace.

One Minute Meditations
Heart
‘I was amused to hear you speak of the “account” that our Lord will demand of you. No, for none of you will he be a judge – in the harsh sense of the word; he will simply be Jesus.’ These lines, written by a good bishop, have consoled more than one troubled heart, and could well console yours.
– St. Josemaria Escriva, The Way, #168
(Indeed!!!)

_______________________________________________________

Today for some reason I awoke thinking about death. I don’t know, maybe that all began when I tried to touch my toes and found myself in trouble as my fingers reached my knees. While I contemplated my predicament, should I stay or should I go, I paid some attention to the cords of veins and colors of the little blue capillaries forming the geography of my right leg; the one my doctors say needs a new hip and knee.

As it often does, one thing led to another.

And while thinking I remembered my namesake. Did he think of such silly things as he walked along the way to his crucifixion? Silliness starting my thoughts in that direction, silliness continued me on the way. Here is the song I cannot get out of my head. It’s a good one, a slow waltz I think. It would do me well to have it sung at my grave:

 

(Oh, I reached my toes, and it is raining.  Heavily!)
Categories

