Posted by: Peadar Ban | October 2, 2012

21 Ways to Worship

The dictionary will tell you that the word “adore” is a combination of two Latin words.  I won’t require you to guess what those words are.  You probably know them already.  But as a service for the five or six of you who never had to take Latin in school, the words are “ad”, meaning “to”, and “orare”, meaning “pray”.  Simply stated, adore comes down to this: the act of praying to Someone.  I’ll not get involved here in the rest of the various meanings and shades of meaning, the many uses of the word, that have grown up since we borrowed it from the French who borrowed it from the Latin original.  You know them, I suppose.  All you need to know then is that to adore means to pray; intensely.

You have to like a fellow who goes by the first name Vinny.  I do.  I make an immediate connection and understand intuitively that someone named Vinny is a fellow who speaks plainly, who eschews words like — well words like “eschew” and “intuitively”.  Right from the title of his book, 21 Ways to Worship,  Vinny Smith doesn’t deal in anything but the plain and necessary truths about that rather simple yet mysterious and puzzling thing called Eucharistic Adoration.

I’ve had my own problems with Eucharistic Adoration over the years, more than enough to fill a page or two with complaints about and reasons against continuing to do it.  And so, I welcome a plain speaking fellow like Vinny Smith writing a book about adoration for ordinary people to use; a practical and useful, and therefore a valuable guide to prayer.

I remember a time long ago in my life when I found myself staying after Mass as Father set the monstrance on the altar and we sang O Salutaris Hostia, a song I had been singing for many, many years, whose words I only vaguely knew in English.  For some reason that day I took the time to read the words of the hymn in translation while I sat there.  And, there I learned what I should have known: that the song was a simple prayer, a cry for help, a petition.

And, as I sat thinking about what had just been made plain to me, I remembered the time I stood at the back of a church in my home town New York City with a fellow I worked with.  I remembered what he told me, “Every once in a while, I need to go into the church and say, HELP!”

What return can I make to the Lord for all He has done for me?  That’s what the Psalmist asks.  And, on another occasion, that’s more or less what I said in Church after Mass one day.  As I sat and thought about it I realized that all I had to give was the messes I had created every time I did what I wanted to do.  And so, I gave Him that.

You may not find those two approaches to prayer among Vinny’s 21 Ways to Worship, but you will find something similar to be sure.  You will learn how gently you will be treated as you bare your soul to the Lord who already knows what is there, who waits with infinite patience, mercy and love for you to come and simply ask Him to accept you as you are.

And, as Vinny might tell you were he by your side, “You will hear His answer.”

21 Ways to Worship has been called easy to read, a practical guide, jam-packed with inspiring ideas, techniques, and prayers to help you make the most of your time in Adoration.  Well, that is true, and being true it is good.  The Christian Book Corner would like to make your relationship with Love in Person better than you imagined it could be, and believes use of Vinny Smith’s book is one way to do that.  We offer the book at discount for your edification as we offer all of our products that are always “Chosen with care; chosen with Prayer.”

Categories

