Posted by: Peadar Ban | July 18, 2015

ROBIN, FIRST TO WAKE

Here is a poem I think I wrote a few months ago when the snow had at last left the ground. I just revised it. I was awake quite early this morning and heard the Robin call hello to the day: I think it’s a sonnet, though I am not sure of that, or even what kind of a one it may be.

Robin, First to Wake

First light brings form. Homes, where sleeping still
My neighbors lie, appear. And small birds fly,
As it grows stronger, from nests once filled
With hungry young, to search with darting eye
For little bugs about, or tiny seeds
Wind blown; promise of life from shrubs and trees.

Just so Robin, first to wake, atop a tree
Faces east trumpeting reveille –
Strong sound across the morning air. More prayer
Of pure joy in light and life there may be
You declare. I neither know nor care
To say. His song opens day’s book for me.

Oh, night returns, necessarily so
And Robin’s song again in sunset’s glow.
One bird one song sings that sounds good for all.
Begins the day, sweetly chants soft night’s fall.

peg
July 17, 2015


Categories

